click image to close

Ewa Kupiec by Laion
Ewa Kupiec's piano playing is praised for "pure substance" by Fono Forum, Germany's leading magazine for classical music. The Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung says, "Kupiec plays with a rare mixture of spirit, a faultless technique, a complete understanding of musical texture, and an ability to shape music with transparency and an impressive richness of colors. Her playing is brilliant but never obtrusive, full of atmosphere and subtly virtuosic."

At the beginning of the 2010-11 season, Kupiec will be appear with the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra with Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, followed by engagements with the Düsseldorf Symphony, Stuttgart Philharmonic, and the Osaka Century Orchestra. She will go on an extended tour of northern Europe with the National Polish Symphony Orchestra. She will also present a Chopin solo program in the Stuttgart Liederhalle and return to perform with the Auckland Symphony Orchestra and the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

Kupiec regularly performs at the world's leading festivals but also with major orchestras, including Orchestre de Paris, Minnesota Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony, Het Residentie, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Munich Philharmonic, Leipzig Gewandhaus, Gulbenkian Orchestra, Dresden Philharmonic, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, and Warsaw Philharmonic. She has worked with conductors Marin Alsop, Neeme Järvi, Xian Zhang, Sakari Oramo, Semyon Bychkov, Herbert Blomstedt, Krzysztof Penderecki, Lothar Zagrosek, Gilbert Varga, Christoph Poppen, Andrey Boreyko, and Marek Janowski. Renowned Polish maestro Stanislaw Skrowaczewski has initiated and supported an exceptionally fruitful musical collaboration between the two, and they perform all over the world and recorded Chopin's piano concerti together.

Recognized as one of Europe's most dedicated interpreters of contemporary music, Kupiec's performance of Schnittke's First Piano Concerto with the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra was the first performance of this work since 1964 and was released by Phoenix in 2008, together with other Schnittke works for piano and orchestra. Among her numerous CDs are works by Grazyna Bacewicz, Lutoslawski, Szymanowski, and Paderewski. Haenssler released her recording of Janá ek solo works in 2007 and her next CD Solaris features solo works by Enescu and Kodály.

Ewa Kupiec studied at the Chopin Academy in Warsaw and at the Royal Academy of Music in London, and in 1992 she won the ARD Music Competition (category duo piano/cello).

December 2019
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31

| Home | Visual Arts | Theater/Dance | Film | Music | Literature | History | Lectures | In Poland | Links |
| About Us | Contact Us | Download PCI Logo | Newsletter |

Site Powered by the siteMaster® Content Management System